(Belated) Saturday Gratitude

This week I am grateful for…

1) Rest days. Not because it means I don’t have to work out, but because when I give my body time to recuperate, it totally rocks out on the next race. After visiting my parents and not working out for two and a half days this week, I came home to run 2.76 miles in 30 minutes!! According to MapMyRun, my average pace was 10:58! That is definitely one of the best runs I’ve ever hard. Looks like running intervals + resting is definitely starting to pay off. Just in time since I run my 5k on Saturday!

2) My mom’s strawberry pie. (And the rest of her home-cooked meals, of course.) This is my favorite dessert, and it’s always waiting for me when I get home. AND now that I’m living closer to home, I can take the leftovers back with me. Yummmm…

A little slice of Heaven. (Sorry for the long photo. It's from my phone. I really need to buy a camera again. Sigh.)

A little slice of Heaven. (Sorry for the long photo. It’s from my phone. I really need to buy a camera again. Sigh.)

3) Roy Williams. I just finished reading his book, Hard Work: A Life On and Off the Court, and it has made me fall even more in love with Carolina basketball and Roy Williams (if possible). I knew next to nothing about Roy and this book was an eye-opener. It was also incredibly inspiring. I think anyone could read this book and appreciate it (except maybe a dookie). You definitely don’t have to know anything about basketball. If you’re in need of some inspiration or motivation, definitely pick it up.

What are you grateful for?

Leave a Reply

