Running the World with She’s the First

Holy moly, guys, my 5k is in less than two weeks! Where has the time gone?

I got a little nervous when I realized it is only two weeks away because I think I’ve been training a little too hard lately. I’m slowing things down this week to recuperate, but I hope that doesn’t negate any of my progress. I also hope it’s long enough to recuperate. I know I can run the whole 5k distance, but now it’s a matter of time. I’m not looking to break any records, but it’d be nice to come in under 34 minutes. (What can I say? I’m slow.)

I’ll be running the Great Glow Run (because who doesn’t love glow sticks), but more importantly, I’m running for She’s the FIRST as part of their Run the World campaign. She’s the FIRST (STF) is a non-profit organization that helps support girls’ education in the developing word. The founder of STF, Tammy Tibbetts, is probably one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met. (I also wonder when she sleeps.)

Image

Who can’t get behind educating girls around the world, right? One of the best parts about the campaign is that 100 percent of the money I raise goes towards scholarships for girls to attend school. I’m hoping to raise at least $365 to sponsor a South Sudanese girl’s education for a year. I’m not quite there, but even though my race is on May 11, the campaign runs until June 30, so there is still hope! (If you’re interested in donating, check out my page here.)

Wish me–and the girls!–luck!

Are you running a race? Do you run for a cause?

Leave a Reply

