So Bummed.

This past weekend, I was supposed to explore downtown Raleigh with a friend, but due to unforeseen baby troubles, she was unable to go with me. Instead of chickening out, like I often do, I decided I could check it out on my own.

First, let me say that driving in downtown Raleigh is nowhere near as scary as I thought it would be. Maybe it’s because I went on a Sunday, but there were hardly any cars.

Also, for the longest time, it seemed almost like a deserted city. Unfortunately, I believe the reason no one was walking around is because they were all getting ready to run for Boston.

I AM SO BUMMED I DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT IT. SO SO SO BUMMED.

Look how awesome and patriotic the finish line is!!

Look how awesome and patriotic the finish line is!!

I’ve done a few runs by myself and quietly sent positive vibes into the air for them, but it’s no comparison to on the camaraderie I saw between all of those runners and people who were cheering.

Worse, I got stuck on the wrong side of the run, so I had to walk alongside of them for five or six blocks. All I wanted to do was join them. Stupid jeans and flats.

(Regardless, to help Boston, you can donate to The One Fund.)

After that, I wasn’t really in the mood to explore anymore. I also had to go home and cross a few things off the old to-do list. (I swear, I am 100% more accountable if I write a list of things to accomplish for each day.)

But it’s ok. After I got over my jealousy, I was just excited that there were so many kind, caring helpers. Good always wins.

Leave a Reply

