Good Always Wins

I can’t really post this week without acknowledging what happened at the Boston Marathon, so it took me a while to figure out what to say. I am deeply saddened and very angry. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected by this awful act of evil.

It was supposed to be a good day.

I was so excited that Shalane Flanagan placed fourth in the marathon. After reading a Runner’s World article about her and Kara Groucher, I was pumped to learn she is a Tar Heel! I was excited to have a favorite runner in a new favorite sport.

I was excited to tell you all that I ran a full three miles without stopping. That I, too, accomplished something awesome (yet much shorter) the same day.

But it didn’t seem right to talk about these things anymore, so I just didn’t post. It didn’t seem fair when three people died, countless others were injured and thousands more weren’t able to complete the race they trained so hard to make.

Later on that evening, I found this sign posted repeatedly on many different social platforms, and it helped raise my spirits.

[I stole the image from Facebook. I'm sorry.]

[I stole the image from Facebook. I’m sorry.]

And after reading and watching everything this week, I just want to say I’m so grateful to be joining a community of super awesome, caring runner-helpers. And I hope I add some value (in miles and in love) to this monstrous group. Thank you, runner-helpers, for reminding me that good always wins.

Leave a Reply

